College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Content
Main Content |

Intranet: College Newsletter

Spring/Summer 2011


Dr. Charlie Li and graduate students

At the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Annual International Meeting held August 7-10, 2011, Dr. Changying "Charlie" Li and two of his graduate students from the Tifton Campus received important recognitions for their work.

Weilin Wang and Peyton Yu who both recently completed their M.S. in Agricultural Engineering received second and third place, respectively, in the Boyd-Scott Graduate Student Research Award M.S. competition. The purpose of the Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award is to recognize excellence in the conduct and presentation of research to build the knowledge base needed by engineers who design equipment, facilities, and processes for the sustainable operation of a biological system.

Dr. Li received the Early Career Award from the Association of Overseas Chinese Agricultural, Biological, and Food Engineers. The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding career achievement by a young AOC member in the profession of Agricultural, Biological and Food Engineering. The award is to honor achievement through education, research, innovation, development, extension, consulting, administration, international collaboration, and other professional activities.

Award Winners at APRES

The 43rd Annual American Peanut Research and Education Society Annual Meeting took place July 11-14, 2011, in San Antonio, TX. The Tifton Campus was well represented with Dr. Timothy Grey taking home an award as recipient of the Dow AgroSciences Award for Excellence in Research, and Mr. Justin Moss (M.S. student of Dr. Scott Tubbs) receiving second place in the Joe Sugg Graduate Student Competition. Four of the seven graduate students in that competition hail from the UGA Tifton Campus, with two additional graduate students presenting in other sessions aside from the competition.

Dr. John Bernard awarded at APRES

Dr. John BernardThe joint annual meeting of the American Dairy Science Association and the American Society of Animal Science was held in New Orleans, LA, during July, 2011. Dr. John Bernard received the Pioneer Hi-Bred Forage Research Award for excellence in forage research.

UGA researcher wins George Washington Carver Award

University of Georgia researcher and Ph.D. student Micah Lewis was recently named the recipient of the 2011 George Washington Carver Award. The National Peanut Board selected Lewis, an engineering doctoral candidate in the UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, based on his research on peanuts and his service activities. Read the news release.



Parsons named CAES assistant director of college advancement

Mary Ann ParsonsUniversity of Georgia alumna Mary Ann Parsons has been named assistant director of the UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Office of College Advancement and External Affairs. Parsons' appointment is effective Aug. 1, 2011.

UGA's Ruter named to endowed horticulture professorship

John RuterUniversity of Georgia horticulture professor John Ruter has been awarded the Allan M. Armitage Endowed Professorship for Herbaceous Plant Instruction and Introduction.

For the past two decades, Ruter has been a UGA horticulture professor at the CAES campus in Tifton, Ga., where he was the nursery crop researcher and UGA Cooperative Extension specialist. In the Armitage professorship, Ruter will move his research and graduate programs to UGA's main campus in Athens. Read the news release.