College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Content
Main Content |

Intranet: College Newsletter

Spring/Summer 2012

Faculty and Staff Recognition

The UGA Office of International Education recently honored Vicki McMaken, assistant director of Global Programs, with the 2012 Mary Ann Kelley Open Arms Award. Vicki's many responsibilities include welcoming the 100 or more incoming international students, scholars and scientists who study, research or visit the university each year.

Dr. Allan Armitage has been awarded the highly prestigious Liberty Hyde Bailey Award from the American Horticulture Society, based in River Farm, Washington, DC. This is the highest award AHS provides. Read the press release.

Horticulture faculty member Jim Affolter was awarded a Summer 2012 Innovative Instruction Faculty Grant for his project proposal: "Using QR Code Technology to Unlock the Secrets of the Latin American Ethnobotanical Garden."

The UGA Office of Sustainability honored associate professor of horticulture David Berle and Office of Environmental Sciences director Susan Varlamoff with an Outstanding Faculty/Staff 2012 Sustainable UGA Award. This award goes to individuals whom have demonstrated dedicated efforts to conserve natural resources, advance sustainability initiatives and improve quality of life on and off campus. Read the press release.

Two University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences faculty members received Walter Barnard Hill awards in recognition of their public outreach programs. Glenn H. Beard, county extension coordinator for Colquitt County, and Eric Prostko, a crop and soil sciences professor and Extension weed specialist, both received 2012 Walter Barnard Hill Awards for Distinguished Achievement in Public Service and Outreach. Read the press release.

Director of Center for Applied Genetic Technologies

Dr. Scott Jackson has been appointed as the director of the Center for Applied Genetic Technologies. This appointment is effective May 1, 2012. Please welcome Scott into his new role.

Master Gardener Coordinator

Sheri Dorn came on board as the new Master Gardener coordinator in June of 2012. She came to us as an agent and former state MG coordinator in Virginia, so she has a wealth of experience. Sheri will have complete responsibility for leading the Master Gardener program and all questions, concerns or policy interpretations will need to come through her. In addition to handling the Master Gardener program, Sheri will also have a horticulture component to her position. She will be responsible for handling homeowner ornamental questions, circulars, power points, etc. as well as DDDI samples on cultural problems of consumer ornamentals. She will be based at the Griffin campus.

Appointment of District Extension Director for Southwest District

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Laura Perry Johnson as the new District Extension Director for Southwest District, effective June 1, 2012. Laura has served as the 4-H Program Development Coordinator for Southwest District for the past ten years. Prior to that, she served as the Extension 4-H Specialist in Animal Science for eight years. Her BSA, MS and Ph.D. are all from the University of Georgia in Animal and Dairy Science. Please join us in welcoming Dr. Laura Perry Johnson to her new role. We look forward to working with her as the newest member of the Extension administrative leadership team.

New Director of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics

Effective July 1, 2012, Dr. Peggy Ozias-Akins will take over as director of the Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics. This institute continues to be very effective and brings national and international attention to a very strong program. Please welcome Peggy as she takes on this important responsibility that is in addition to all of her other scholarly obligations.

Land Grant Universities Honored

Scott Angle, chairman of the APLU Board on Agriculture Assembly and Dean of the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, accepted the World Food Prize Foundation's Borlaug Medallion during a ceremony in Washington D.C. celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Morrill Land-grant Act of 1862.

Watch the video and read more:
World Food Prize Honors APLU with Norman E. Borlaug Medallion

Appointment of SW District 4-H Program Development Coordinator

We are excited to announce (pending approvals from UGA Administration) effective August 1, 2012, the appointment of Ms. Melinda Miller as the new 4-H Program Development Coordinator in Southwest District! Melinda is currently the 4-H Agent and County Extension Coordinator in Lowndes County. She has managed the Lowndes 4-H Program since 2000. Prior to that she worked as an Education Program Specialist managing a CYFAR grant at Moody Air Force Base. Melinda's formal education includes a Bachelor's of Fine Arts in Mass Communications and a Master of Science in Sociology, both from Valdosta State University. Melinda brings vast 4-H and managerial experience to the position. She has served as the 4-H Workgroup Coordinator for Lowndes and four other counties, she is a part of the 4-H VISTA grant, is a statewide role model for working with volunteers and Extension Leadership Systems and has held many other leadership roles. Please welcome Melinda to her new role.